Remote work VDI

Hi colleagues,

If you are in need of remote work with 3D/OpenGL/DirectX intensive software:

I’ve been using Parsec since 2018, originally oriented to remote VDI gaming, works with my 3D apps and it has been flawless for the most part. Used to be completely free to use, and still is for now.

Anyways, so far of all the VDI options out there, this has been the most stable, fast and reliable one I’ve experienced while using intense OpenGL/DirectX.

And now they ofer API integration.
Maybe it is useful for you and your peers, I use it almost every day.

8 Likes

Hi @Xavier,

Thanks for the info! I personally use Parsec to play games with a friend overseas and it works great, never though of doing something productive with it! I’ll post this to the rest of our team too.

-David

3 Likes

Also, if you use hp workstations, you have a free license for using hp rgs which supports multiple screens with very low latency.

2 Likes

Can anyone confirm if RV works through Parsec?

Thanks,
-Stewart

1 Like

Hey @Stewart—while we haven’t done comprehensive testing, @DavidMason gave it a try earlier and was successful. Let us know if you try it out! :pray:

I’ve been using parsec since mid 2018, and at that time they published more info on it’s tech: as far as I remember it uses the H264/5 hardware to network encoder that most modern video cards have embedded in the core. Their tech is not the visual encoding, is the network punching, since it does some tricks regarding TCP/UDP.
It has been very reliable for me and I can get it running pretty much anywhere.
It should work with RV.
Keep in mind that Parsec is latency-solving oriented, not image quality/color accuracy oriented.
So I don’t think it will be reliable as per color matching/grading stuff, but for every day cases of work and review, it should do the trick very well.

Hey @Stewart,