Email Suppression List

The current settings for email suppression via Amazon’s SES are too strict. When a user is placed on the email suppression list, they will not receive any shotgrid notifications via email (no password resets, no client playlist invitations etc…). The worst part of this is that we never get notified about these problems. This means important client users are missing playlists without realizing it. I’m told that a simple “Out of Office” reply will cause a user to get placed on the email suppression list. I can think of three solutions:

1. Overhaul the filter that determines if an email should be placed on the suppression list.
  2. Set up a shotgrid page where admins can manage this list for themselves.
  3. Notify the admin team that a user has been placed on the email suppression list.

As a Shotgrid Admin, I deal with email suppression issues on a weekly basis (as does the hard working Autodesk support team that responds to my emails).

4 Likes

I agree with you, David, we really should get an alert when this happens!

3 Likes

I think this would be a serious problem for autodesk because oftentimes the client users that are having trouble with this are the same folks who sign the checks for our Shotgrid licenses. It doesn’t leave a very good impression on them.

1 Like

@patrick-hubert-adsk

You shed some light on this somewhere else on the forum.

Are there any internal discussions going to make this issue more manageable?
Is it on a prio list somewhere?

Hi @Ricardo_Musch

I unfortunately have no clue as to if there is anything happening on this. I know it is a pain point, and likely generates a lot of support calls which would not be necessary if things were a bit more integrated in ShotGrid, or at least not triggered on just one error.

I would defer to @warren.trezevant to ensure visibility

-Patrick

2 Likes