Auditing Admin Events

I am a part of a fairly large team. I am dealing with an issue where my account has been involved with the deactivation of other users. I am an admin on our shotgrid and have a few more controls than an average user. I am fairly new to this tool, but I do know how to check metadata. Unfortunately, the metadata doesn’t tell me who the admin user was using my account. it only says “human user” but it doesn’t give me enough to figure out who was using my account. We have about 10-ish admins across all of our departments. now, this could easily probably be a bug with shotgrid, but I would like to get to the bottom of why my account was used to deactivate another user. Are there any ways to look deeper into the meta data or check any code to figure out if in fact one of the admins used my account (by accident or otherwise) or if this was simply an error with the software?

Hi @Josh

First, change your password immediately. Then, if not done already, check off the Admins Can Perform Actions As box for your user in the People page. This way, it is not possible for someone else to impersonate you in the GUI or via the API. And any existing script that would use your credentials will stop being able to authenticate.

In the Event Log Entry List page, look for actions that you want to audit and see if there is a sudo_actual_user value in the Meta Data. This will indicate who really did the action…

If your site was in dual-mode, and you turned off ShotGrid-based sign-in without inviting everyone, you will effectively disable all the users that were not sent an invitation.

Is there anything common about the users that were de-activated ? Timing, context, etc.? Can you find the events related to the login of your user ?

It is software, so a bug is always a possibility… But AFAIK we have nothing in our backlog regarding this type of issue or vulnerability. So the current info available in the event log entries should be accurate.