Issue tracker capability

Hello! I’m new to Shotgrid and I need an issue tracker for my team. I’m wondering if there might be a way to set something simple like that up.

All I need is to have a page in Shotgun where a user can document an issue they are having somehow, maybe other users can add their name to the topic… maybe when I resolve the issue I could mark it as resolved or reply or something so the team can know. Possible?

Thanks!

Here you go:

2 Likes

Hmm I wonder if this could be used for general issues on a show like per episode issues.

Yes tickets link to a project.

As someone who used the SG tickets in the past I can say that this is actually the most annoying part of the tickets. They are CustomProjectEntities, so they are strictly bound to a project and you cannot see them in other projects. Sure you can create custom pages that show all the tickets, but that can also get pretty annoying to pass around. Not to mention that tickets vanish from the search algorithm as soon as the attached project is archived. The issue actually is, that the vast majority of tickets we had, were not project specific,but on a more global scale.
My honest suggestion is to start with the tickets from scratch and build them from a CustomNonProjectEntity. You will save yourself a lot of nerves. And if you take the existing tickets as a reference, it should not take too long to build.

Cheers,
Fabian

PS: we have moved away from them entirely and I do not regret it at all. However it does seem to be the right solution to your needs.

1 Like

May I ask out of interest what you are using now? :smiley:

I use them internally for pipeline tickets on our pipeline dev project.
Tickets and comms with artists would go via another system.