Houdini Intergration - Publish HDA?

I haven’t really looking into it, but shotgun doesn’t seem to be able to publish HDA and load it back in ? Cheers

1 Like

Out of the box the Shotgun integrations do not handle publishing or loading of HDA files.
You would need to take over the publish hooks and configure the loader to be able to import HDA files.
It is possible, and I’ve seen someone else attempt to set this up, but I don’t have any specific details I can share other than:

The pipeline tutorial covers writing your own publish plugin and configuring the loader to import a PublishedFile type, so that might be of use if you are looking to add this your self.

Best
Phil

4 Likes

Hello Sun. Yes Philip is right in that you will first need to take over the publishing processes. Is this something you have done yet? If so, I do have an example I can share with you.

2 Likes

Please, share a step to step tutorial, I have not done anything like that. And I am not a programmer, I can do some python, but not at a super pro level.

1 Like

I think it will be better for you to go through the pipeline tutorial first. Once you have your custom configuration set up and looking something like you see here:

then it will be easier to add more custom code to include publishing and loading HDAs. I can go through this with you as you progress until you have the final pipeline.

They even have a good explanation of publishing in the section titled “Custom Shader Publish”. It explains how Shotgun collects items to be displayed in the Publish window.

By the way, how well do you know Houdini’s Digital Assets?

7 Likes

Hi Andrewa