Running background process

Hello!

Is there a good way to run a periodically running background process while the Shotgrid Desktop is running?
I was thinking about starting an async process with time.sleep in an endless loop upon Shotgrid Desktop launch, but I’m not sure where to put the corresponding code, or if there’s a better way to do it.

How periodically do you need it to be and what sort of thing are you trying to achieve?

1 Like

@Ricardo_Musch Let’s say I’d like to run a custom python script in every 5 minutes. (like a cronjob basically)

I’m not sure if thats possible, I’m not an expert on Threading.
If it is you would be able to launch that process from a core hook depending on when it should launch and what details you need.

bootstrap.py is the earliest core hook that is run.

Another thing is that you could create a cronjob script that runs every 5 minutes and runs as a separate application, but kaunched from bootstrap.py

However what exactly is is you want it to do?

Because if it’s SG related it may already be covered by the SG Event Server or Webhooks?

1 Like

@Ricardo_Musch Yes, currently I implemented this in the bootstrap core hook (however it runs twice every time for some reason).
It’s not SG related. I’m creating a function that runs in the background and updates the 3rd party packages in the background, so when the user wants to start working, they don’t have to wait for all the package updates to download, because we already downloaded them in the background.
This is mainly to improve productivity.

Bootstrap runs every time toolkit is loaded (as far as I know).

Thats once for starting Sg Desktop, then once for loading the pipeline config.
And then once in the DCC software when it’s bootstrapping into sgtk.

Is there not a way you could push the packages to the machine from a server?
Or use a render manager that runs in the background to update the local packages?