How do I create "Shot Groups"?

Hi there,

I’ve recently moved from a very very large company to a very small one and I’m looking at trying leverage Shotgun to perform some of the functions that the in-house publishing and asset management system did in my previous job.

One of the concepts that we had in the in-house publishing system was that of “Shot Groups”.

These were a named collection of shots that generally had some similarity or repeating element and so could be worked on as a unit for more efficiency. Shots inside shot groups could potentially span multiple sequences if needed.
On disk they were like a hybrid of a sequence and and shot. They had a directory tree that was similar to a shot for storing application scene/setup files and configuration.
The publishing database was the place you needed to query for the list of shots that a group encapsulated. This mapping could change over time also.

I haven’t come across a similar concept in Shotgun just yet (I’m still learning!) perhaps it’s called something different?
But I understand Shotgun can be configured to add new Entity types that could behave this way.

Has anyone used such a concept in their Shotgun implementation?

If so, what steps would I need to take to create something similar?

Cheers
Dan

1 Like

Hi Dan,

It sounds like a shared shots library cross project. There is an old How do I shared asset between projects maybe useful.

If not, when other experts are online, you will get better answer.

Cheers

Loney

1 Like

Thanks for your reply Loney,

I’ll have a look but conceptually a Shot Group (and the shots it referred to) would only be with-in the same project.

These are used as a production efficiency tool so that you have a more organised way of saying, “these 15 shots are all of the same subject in the same lighting environment - lets assign this to one Lighting artist”.