Get HumanUserID for current user?

I’m new to the shotgrid API. Is there a straightforward way to get the HumanUserID for the current user?

I can get it now, but I have to get the user to enter First and Last name:

filters = [['login', 'is', 'john.doe@mycompany.com']]
userID = sg.find('HumanUser', filters)
userID = userID[0]['id']

It depends a bit. Are you using toolkit? e.g. are you running in a program with ShotGrid integration? Then you can get it from the current context

import sgtk
sgtk.platform.current_engine().context.user

For the ShotGrid api (the one that communicates with the database) I see there is

sg._user.resolve_entity()

which gives you the HumanUser

I’m using the API, not using toolkit.

Hmmm. Not working for me. I get this error message:

#     curUser = sg._user.resolve_entity()
# AttributeError: 'Shotgun' object has no attribute '_user'

Not sure tbh. I guess it depends on how you access the api.
Are you running this in the terminal?In a dcc?

Connecting to shotgrid from a python script in Maya.

If Maya is running with the ShotGrid engine, then you have access to toolkit and shotgun instances there.

import sgtk
engine = sgtk.platform.current_engine()
tk = engine.sgtk
ctx = engine.context
sg = tk.shotgun
user = ctx.user

I can import the api, but can’t seem to import sgtk:

import shotgun_api3
import sgtk

# Error: ImportError: file <maya console> line 3: No module named sgtk #

Hi @brianm

EDIT: this post initially stated that there were no way to know information about yourself with the ShotGrid Python API, that is incorrect. There are information about the current session in Shotgun.config.user_login and Shogun.config.script_name

I would instead suggest that you use the REST API and decode the access token. You will se a “user” section which will contain the user id.

Hope this helps,

-Patrick