Application Launch - Questions RE Launch Versions

Hi

I’m new to SGTK and starting out by replacing our custom app launcher with the Shotgun Desktop.

The first task on my list is to replicate the environment variable process we have in place, but inside SGTK. Which leads me to the following:

1. I have been controlling software versions from within the Software page within the SG web interface (all good there).

2. I’ve made tweaks to the before_app_launch.py hook and have had success configuring custom variables prior to app launch.

So far so good. But now I’m wanting to add some finer grained control:

1. Within before_app_launch, how do I configure the launcher to return a version of software being launched? Right now the ‘version’ var returns ‘None’.

2. What is considered best practice for managing plugin versions? We use Redshift and often run 3 versions of the software in our env (1 prod, 1 beta, 1 testing). As an example, I would expect to create 3 Houdini versions within the launcher, with each pointing to a different version of RS. How do I control the versions for RS in such a workflow?

3. In line with the above point, what is considered best practice for wrapping custom tools (i’m talking about tools that sit outside the SGTK environment; like hair plugins etc) into a version managed (or at least, packaged) way when using SG Desktop?

Thanks, clinton.

2 Likes

Hi Clinton,

When you setup software in Software Page, do you input version?

I did a test with the latest version. I could get version.

I would leave other questions to other experts. :slight_smile:

Loney

1 Like

Hi Loney

Thanks for your reply. YES, when I add data to the ‘Versions’ field within Shotgun I can see that value in the launch environment; great!

However, I assumed it might have been comma delimited etc, but it only takes a string (I realise I can encode a string with my own delimeters and parse it inside the launch env).